Oil Change Anyone??

I have to start this post out by saying when it comes to raffles, I’m probably the most unlucky person there is. However, my husband is also very unlucky. So, put us together and we usually don’t win JACK!

This past weekend, at the Skeeball League Championship (yes, this does exist and yes, this is a whole other story), we entered our names into a raffle. There were 54 teams of three people present at this thing. Meaning, 162 names total written on tiny sheets of paper mixed together in literally a fishbowl. Horrible odds for the unlucky.

Some of the prizes were pretty sweet: iPods, GPS, and a giant TV as a Grand Prize. Those were all the prizes out on the table anyway. I didn’t realize there were more surprises up their sleeve…

So, when 8pm rolled around, the time of the first raffle drawing, you can imagine our excitement. We were also hoping to not be called because let’s face it…we all wanted the TV! Once the first iPod was given away, the announcer mentioned the second prize was an oil change. We definitely thought this was hilarious. If our name was called, think of how funny that would be! Well, they called another name, so we breathed easy. We were still in for the TV!

Not a minute later, they called the guy’s name again, “Second call” the announcer said. Then about a minute later, “Third and final call for the oil change”. Then it happened…they re-drew a name for the oil change. The announcer called out, “From Fairlawn, Jason King!”.

There it was. Jason, my unlucky husband, won something. A free oil change in a city over an hour away. Perfect.

So, after laughing our heads off for a while. We finally have our turn at skeeball and went to play our game. Our joy didn’t last long as we lost to a bunch of skeeballing pros.

I am a huge competitive person. To the point where it might be a disorder, so I was extremely ticked off that we lost and immediately wanted to get out of there! Jason, the patient person he is, said that we should just wait for the next drawing to see if we won something.

Then all of a sudden, I hear my name! I WON SOMETHING!!! Everyone around me was so excited for me and I kept asking what I won, but no one knew. So, I ran up to the front as fast as I could. I almost felt like my name being called was redemption for losing. The taste of victory finally and it felt great! I was smiling from ear to ear and when I approached the prize table I quickly raised my hand, so they knew it was my name they just called. I gleamed with pride…

And there it was…the OTHER free oil change gift certificate.

For the life of me, I can’t figure out if this is actually lucky or unlucky that both Jason and I won the only two free oil change gift certificates. I say unlucky because the prize is pretty much useless because the cost of gas to get there would be way more than the oil change by itself. Should we play the lottery or stay in the house for fear of us BOTH getting struck by lightening??

Leave a Reply

